Fsbuild-2 Flight Planner

Fsbuild 2 support forum
It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:19 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: ISG 1.8 Upgrade preview
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3884
Location: NJ, USA
ISG 1.8 Upgrade preview.

Attachment:
isg_c17_1.jpg
isg_c17_1.jpg [ 259.72 KiB | Viewed 16856 times ]


This is work I had previously done for AlphSim on their C-17 Globemaster III project.
But due to circumstances beyond my control it didn't make it into the recently released
Virtavia C-17 product.

So I've decided to integrate it into ISG and include it as part of the 1.8 update.

It contains 3 parts

MFD - Multi function display which has 8 modes, the PFD, 2 Eicas modes, Config , and 4 Map modes.

MCD/MCK - Mission Control Display/ Mission Control Keypad (basically the FMS). This a modified version
of the real C17's as much of it is classified and hard to get info on. So its more a combination
of what C-17 MCD info I could get, and the MD11's FMC which has similiar looking pages.

MFCP - Multi Function Control panel (basically the EFIS control panel for the MFD's map modes).

The MFD can be installed in separate instances which will allow you to for example in the
C-17's VC to have 4 independent MFD's to display 4 separate MFD screens at once.

These are customized to fit seemlessly into the Virtavia's C-17 product, but as with all ISG
modules you can put them in any panel you wish separately.


We're working on the background bitmaps for the FMS now, this upgrade will not take long to release
I'd estimate about 2 weeks.

Attachment:
isg_c17_3.jpg
isg_c17_3.jpg [ 265.03 KiB | Viewed 16856 times ]


Regards.
Ernie.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 10:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 10:04 am
Posts: 4
Hello Ernie,

Looking great!! Also for usage with other militair planes ;-)

Do you have some screens of the different MFD pages?

So i understand there are also engine pages? In that case is it possible to create a "turbo-prop" version to be used for example the C-130. Many have panel refitted with MFD displays.

Regards,

Marcel


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 10:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3884
Location: NJ, USA
Some more screens of the ISG Virtavia C-17 retrofit.

Regards.
Ernie.


Attachments:
isg_c17_1.jpg
isg_c17_1.jpg [ 201.73 KiB | Viewed 16762 times ]
isg_c17_2.jpg
isg_c17_2.jpg [ 189.39 KiB | Viewed 16762 times ]
isg_c17_3.jpg
isg_c17_3.jpg [ 175.76 KiB | Viewed 16762 times ]

_________________
Image
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3884
Location: NJ, USA
mgr wrote:
Hello Ernie,

Looking great!! Also for usage with other militair planes ;-)

Do you have some screens of the different MFD pages?


See the additional screens I posted.

Quote:
So i understand there are also engine pages? In that case is it possible to create a "turbo-prop" version to be used for example the C-130. Many have panel refitted with MFD displays.


Its probably not something we can do with these gauges as they are made for the C-17.

Turboprops have different parameters to display (Torque etc). It makes it real hard to have a one gauge fits all
Eicas display.

This has EPR/EGT settings Many aircraft don't have EPR displays. It makes it hard to have one Engine display that
can work in every aircraft.

And every FDE's thrust curve is different as well. Its not something easily obtainable for a generic type gauge.

Its worth looking into, but not for this update.

Regards,
Ernie.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 7:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:51 pm
Posts: 26
Hi Ernie,
Thanks for the update - this looks good! I just purchased the Virtavia C-17 and was disappointed to see it has no functional FMC. Your update will come in very handy indeed.

Cheers,

_________________
Graeme Butler


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 3:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3884
Location: NJ, USA
graemeb wrote:
Hi Ernie,
Thanks for the update - this looks good! I just purchased the Virtavia C-17 and was disappointed to see it has no functional FMC. Your update will come in very handy indeed.

Cheers,


Hmmm,
I'm currently thinking of dropping the C-17 FMC I had made for Alphasim. It still needs a fair amount of work. It might be better just to start with the MFD displays, and add the FMC later on. The Smith's FMC would be able to be used in the meantime. Then it'd be released a bit quicker.

Regards.
Ernie.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 10:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:51 pm
Posts: 26
Ah, I see. Well that is up to you. I am in no hurry, but would prefer the C-17 FMC when it is available. Does not worry me either way.

_________________
Graeme Butler


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3884
Location: NJ, USA
graemeb wrote:
Ah, I see. Well that is up to you. I am in no hurry, but would prefer the C-17 FMC when it is available. Does not worry me either way.


Yeah I hear ya, I'd prefer the C-17 FMC as well, but even the one that was done for Alphasim was only
partial as much of it is classified we never could get all the info on the FMC we needed, and we just kinda
merged it with the MD-11's.

But I didn't realize how much work was still left on it till i started converting it for ISG use. I was kinda hoping to get this done quick as I have other projects to work on. So I think the Smiths will have to do 'for now' till I find more time to finish up what we had for the C-17's FMC.

Regards.
Ernie.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 4:37 pm
Posts: 4
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Ernie,

Those screenshots look great. The MFD's integrate perfect. I'm not a registered user of the ISG system but I am a fan. Was wondering if there was any possiblility you might consider making the C-17 specific MFD's available as a separate product in addition to releasing them as part of an upgrade?

Thanks.

_________________
Frank Safranek - Alphasim/Virtavia Paint Crew
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3884
Location: NJ, USA
fsafranek wrote:
Ernie,

Those screenshots look great. The MFD's integrate perfect. I'm not a registered user of the ISG system but I am a fan. Was wondering if there was any possiblility you might consider making the C-17 specific MFD's available as a separate product in addition to releasing them as part of an upgrade?

Thanks.


The C-17 MFD's will not be a separate product, it needs to be integrated with the ISG's FMC's, so all the included gauges are completely integratedas one package you can mix and match them in your cockpit as you like.

When ISG ver 1.0 came out , it had only the GNSXLS FMS 2 Nav displays (EFS50/Primus 1000), and 2 PFD's/EADI's.

That basically a little more than will be added for the C-17's displays, you'd be paying almost the same price if we sold the
C17's displays with an FMS separately.

The package has been expanded greatly since first released, but the price has remained the same all upgrades have been free.

Regards.
Ernie.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2011 7:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:49 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Kildare, Ireland
- and absolutely fantastic value for money it is too!

You have spoilt us rotten!

One of my best add-ons - I don't think I could do without it now.

Looking forward to Ver 1.8.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:09 am
Posts: 1
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Ernie,

I am going to be doing the C-17 Review for AVSIM. Any chance I could review without ISG and With ISG installed? Is it close? Feel free to PM or email me.

Thanks,
John Binner

_________________
John Binner
AVSIM Technology Manager
www.binnerfamily.org
System Specs, visit: [url]http://www.binnerfamily.org/about/system-specs[/url]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 10:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3884
Location: NJ, USA
Here are a couple of screens from the ISG Area51 C-17 retrofit.

As you can see I've abandoned having a separate C-17 FMS. It was just taking too long to complete, much of it wasn't faithfull to the real C17's MCD functionality, and it was getting harder to justify having an ISG FMS that really could only be used on one aircraft type. Whereas the ISG C17's MFD and PFD displays can be used on other aircraft. Maybe I'll come back to it later on when I have more FS time available (but then that's what I said about the ISG Trimble GPS gauge).

Attachment:
a51_c17_1.jpg
a51_c17_1.jpg [ 194.75 KiB | Viewed 16127 times ]


Attachment:
a51_c17_2.jpg
a51_c17_2.jpg [ 264.68 KiB | Viewed 16127 times ]


Regards.
Ernie.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:28 am
Posts: 57
Location: ESSB
Hi Ernie,
Is there any chance of getting the Pause at TOD and/or XXX miles from DEST worked back into the Smiths DES page in this update? Was real handy for us old family folk who have to either break off to take care of real life or fall asleep. ;)

_________________
Dave Opper
ESSB - Stockholm, Sweden
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 2:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3884
Location: NJ, USA
Daveo wrote:
Hi Ernie,
Is there any chance of getting the Pause at TOD and/or XXX miles from DEST worked back into the Smiths DES page in this update? Was real handy for us old family folk who have to either break off to take care of real life or fall asleep. ;)


Pause at TOD is still there.

You have to use the 'ArmPauseAtTod=1' .cfg option for it to show up in the FMS.

Regards.
Ernie.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group