Fsbuild-2 Flight Planner

Fsbuild 2 support forum
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:03 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 1:10 pm
Posts: 11
Hello everyone, I've just purchased FSBuild from Simmarket, and installed in my Win10 laptop. However, as soon as I open it, I'm getting 2 crashes like this:

Attachment:
MFC error.png
MFC error.png [ 33.42 KiB | Viewed 137 times ]


All the solutions I've seen here require either opening FSBuild (unable in my case) or updating to an older version. These are my system settings:

ASUS Vivobook X556UQ
Intel i5-7200U CPU
Nvidia GT940MX GPU
1 TB HDD, 7200 RPM
6 GB RAM
Windows 10 Home, version 1709, build 16299.64 (cleanly installed).

Main sim: FS9, installed in C:\FS9
Secondary sim: FSX-SE, installed in C:\Steam (and whatever comes next)
FSBuild installed in C:\FS_Addons\FSBuild

For reference, these are the contents of my fsbuild2.cfg file:

Code:
[FSBUILD]
AUTOREFRESH_DELAY=1
AIRCRAFT=B767-300 Level-D
SBPC_SERVER=vatsim.net
ROUTELINE=1
AUTOGEN_RTE_LIMIT=2000
NAVLOGTITLE=AMERICA WEST VIRTUAL
NAVLOGIMAGEBOTTOM=750
NAVLOGIMAGELEFT=20
NAVLOGTEXTTOP=720
NAVLOGIMAGEFILE=awebanner.jpg
NAVCHKDUPDIST=100
WEATHERPROG=ACTIVESKY


[MS-FLIGHTSIMULATOR]
FS_HOME=C:\FS9
F1ATR72_RTE=C:\FS\F1ATRTEST
SSWA310_FPN=C:\FS\FS2002\SSW
SB3_FP=S:\SB4
FSINN_FP=S:\FSFDT\FSCOPILOT\FLIGHTPLANS
IVAP_FP=C:\FS\IVAO\IVAP
FSACARS_FSA=C:\FS\FSACARS
FSC_PLN=C:\FS\FSC
VASFMC_FMC=C:\FS\VASFMC
FPI_FSB=C:\FS\FPI CLIENT
FSMETEO=C:\FS\FSMETEO
ACTIVESKY=C:\FS\FS2004\MODULES\ASV6
WEATHERCTR=C:\FS\FS2002\MODULES\WEATHERCENTER2\OFFLINE2.WCA
GATEKEEPER=C:\PROGRAM FILES\GATEKEEPER
MAPCREATE=C:\FS\MAPCREATE

[FLY!]
INFOMETAR=C:\FS\FLY! II\INFOMETAR

[PS1]
PS1_FMS=C:\FS\PS13

[X-PLANE]
XPLANE_HOME=C:\FS\XPLANE8

[STARTUP]
TOC_TOD
CLEARMAP_BEFORE_BUILD
DISPRTEWPTSONMAP
WINDS_ALOFT
RVSM_FL
ISG1
GOOGLEMAPS
AUTOREFRESH_ON
LOADNATS
LOADPATCOSWNATS


There are too many things that I don't have here (actually, I can only identify ISG). What could be wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:39 pm
Posts: 590
Hi,

First thing I'd suggest is to rename the fsbuild2.cfg file to fsbuild2.orig and then run the application from the right click "run as administrator" and let it build a new one - that'll get rid of the garbage. Having built a new cfg set the FS path and whatever else you want and save, then close and restart the application. Also check the Windows Event Viewer and see what the actual error is if the above doesn't work.

DJ


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 1:10 pm
Posts: 11
Did not help. I mean, after renaming the old CFG and re-opening FSBuild, it crashed twice again, before ever recreating the CFG. Any other ideas?

These are the errors I got:
Code:
Faulting application name: Fsbuild2.exe, version: 1.0.0.1, time stamp: 0x4de15dac
Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc000041d
Fault offset: 0x0c700114
Faulting process id: 0x2200
Faulting application start time: 0x01d366109dfc2490
Faulting application path: C:\FS_Addons\FSBuild\Fsbuild2.exe
Faulting module path: unknown
Report Id: fdb7330a-a770-4463-8505-d40d4b87c6e2
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

And 5 seconds later...
Code:
Faulting application name: Fsbuild2.exe, version: 1.0.0.1, time stamp: 0x4de15dac
Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc000041d
Fault offset: 0x0c700114
Faulting process id: 0x2200
Faulting application start time: 0x01d366109dfc2490
Faulting application path: C:\FS_Addons\FSBuild\Fsbuild2.exe
Faulting module path: unknown
Report Id: fdb7330a-a770-4463-8505-d40d4b87c6e2
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:39 pm
Posts: 590
Hi,

You might try uninstalling the application, remove the directory so you're sure it's all gone and then re-install, running as administrator. All the exception tells me is that something happened.

DJ


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 1:10 pm
Posts: 11
I understand something is happening, but what exactly? I've uninstalled and reinstalled FSBuild twice, one where I installed it first time (C:\FS Addons\FSBuild), and the second time at the default location (C:\Program Files (x86)\FSBuild). I'm getting the same result (double crash, same error messages in Event Viewer). How can this be fixed?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:39 pm
Posts: 590
Hi,

I have no idea what is wrong. The error message tells me that there was an unhandled error somewhere in the application. That's all it tells me. If Ernie Alston drops by perhaps he will some idea what is wrong - I've looked through the forum and have no answer to give you. The only thing that comes to mind is that there has been a recent patch to Win10 that is causing some older applications to have issues. MS is working on a patch to fix it with the next roll-up release. It is possible that it might take care of your problem.

DJ


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 8:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 1:10 pm
Posts: 11
Do you have the information about that Win10 issue, and/or the expected release date for the MS patch? When you say roll-up release, I fear you're meaning version 1803... next March :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 10:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:39 pm
Posts: 590
Hi,

I have no more information. There is no release date that I've seen. MS has done one release that apparently cured some ills and is diligently working on a follow-up but I have no idea what the date will be.

DJ


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2017 12:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 1:10 pm
Posts: 11
I was meaning what kind of problem should I be googling, in order to follow it up. Right now, as you may see, the addon is completely useless to me, since it does not even start.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 2:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 1:10 pm
Posts: 11
Since it depends on a MS update that you have no control over, and thus, no way to know if issue will be fixed or not, I apologize, but I request you (Ernie) to instruct SimMarket to refund me. Software is completely useless, I have not been able to even start it. I paid for a software that works, and it does not :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 1:10 pm
Posts: 11
Any news from the developer? I sent him an e-mail to the address indicated by SimMarket, with no reply at all... Also, I sent a PM to Ernie, but it got stuck at the outbox.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:45 pm
Posts: 3868
Location: NJ, USA
Might be an issue with one of the windows controls.

My guess is everything didn't install correctly. Do any of the screens display on startup ? ie the progress bar etc ?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 1:10 pm
Posts: 11
Negative: after double-clicking, it's about 6 seconds with the mouse cursor spinning and then the first error message. After clicking on "Close program", it's 2 seconds give or take, and then again the same error message. I've reinstalled about 3 times, same result.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 12:06 am
Posts: 59
Just my couple of pence...

I would suggest uninstalling, and making sure all files and directories are gone. Then install again, making sure that the installer is run as administrator.

Once fully installed, run FSbuild as administrator, and all should be fine.

Cheers
Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group